Award programme

Primary tabs

The Award equips young people for life and work

Not all learning happens in the classroom. Young people need experiences outside the classroom to become committed, responsible and fulfilled citizens of the world.

Doing the Award is a personal challenge and not a competition against others; it pushes young people to their personal limits and recognises their achievements consistently.

Since its launch 60 years ago, the Award has inspired millions of young people to transform their lives. Through non formal education, the Award can play a critical role in a young person’s personal development and is achievable by anyone who wants to take up the challenge.


The aim of education is to impel people into value forming experiences… to ensure the survival of these qualities: an enterprising curiosity, an undefeatable spirit, tenacity in pursuit… and above all, compassion… it is culpable neglect not to impel young people into experiences.”

Dr Kurt Hahn




The programme requires effort over time.

There are three levels to the Award: Bronze, Silver and Gold



The Bronze level is for young people from 14 years of age.




You need to be at least 15 years old to start doing your Silver programme.

It will take at least 6 months to achieve the Silver for the Bronze Award holders or 12 months for those who have jumped straight into Silver.



For starting the Gold level, the participants need to be at least 16 years old.

Unlike in the two lower levels of the programme, the participant of the Gold is setting and completing goals in 5 sections:

Skills, Physical Recreation, Service and Adventurous Journey and a Residential Project. The Gold level takes at least 12 months for Silver Award holders or 18 months for those who start
at Gold level without doing Silver before.